Student poetry: Nora ’18

Nora’s poem was recently selected for publication in Creative Communications’ Poetic Power.

 

Beware

 

The air is fresh and pure from this sheer height

Above, the sun glares down as if to speak

You will be gone today, beware my light

 

Vast forests spread spectacular below

So much that you would think it’s paradise

How wonderful to gaze at this tableau

 

Then from high above me, comes the roaring sound

Of boulders tumbling big and small alike

Thrusting my mind into the darkness crowned

 

I see a light, I try to stand and fight

The avalanche that has devoured me

Storms past chewing my soul in angry flight

 

A thousand thoughts flash by insanely bright

The pain is dwindling, as I say goodnight

 

Leave a Reply

