Achieving goals

This past December, MB senior Luis H. ’16, was one of three Rhode Islanders named as an All-New England selection. This was the first time in MB history that a student was named as an NSCAA All-New England player. Luis was also named Division II Player of the Year. Here he reflects upon his time playing soccer at MB.

Project GOAL opened my eyes to private school, and with the help of them and Moses Brown alum David Ortiz ’97, I applied to MB and nothing has been the same. It has been the best five years of my life, and I am so glad to have made that decision. Project GOAL helped me whenever I needed tutors and they were always there to support me and guide me throughout the way.

DSC_1407I also think that Coach Aaronian and Coach Rich really helped me out a lot – they’ve prepared me since freshman year to be the goalie I was this year, and they were very positive before every game which gave me the confidence to play well. One of the unsung heroes this season would have to be Karim Sow, although he didn’t coach this year. He was one of my first teachers at MB and one of the first people I actually bonded with. Throughout the first three years of high school, Karim was always there to talk to me. He would also stay after practice my freshman year and shoot on me (even with that bad knee of his). If it wasn’t for him always being there, and his jokes, I don’t think I would’ve integrated myself as well into the team as I did.

Playing with MB was the best soccer experience I have ever had in my life (and I’ve played soccer for 10 years now). The team really becomes your family and it’s nice knowing that everyone has your back after a mistake, and you have theirs. My favorite memory was after we lost the state final and Rio H. ’18 came up to me and gave me a hug after the ball had gone over my head. I think it really symbolizes how close the team was, and to me that is the most important part of a team, having each other’s back. I honestly don’t think I would have been able to accomplish what I did without the rest of the team. I did post a lot of shutouts, and had few goals against, but it was only because our team played great, and I think that all started because of the great friendships and chemistry that we established.

Luis’ teammates were also recognized with the Sportsmanship Award for the 6th consecutive year, as well as Head Coach Eric Aaronian being named twice as Coach of the Year. Congratulations all around to the Boys’ Varsity Soccer Team!

Leave a Reply

