“I Side With…” Part 2.0

 

“My 10th graders also took the “I Side With” survey. I asked them if they felt that the election connects to Modern World History, if anything surprised them about their results, and if they would want to vote. Here are a handful of responses.” – Sarah Mc Shane, Upper School History”

imgres

“I was definitely a bit surprised with my result after taking the test on Isidewith.com, however, was not entirely shocked by it. I did not think that I would get such a high percent with one person (99%!). I definitely sided with a particular candidate during the duration of the election but didn’t think that I would be so far on their side. I knew I completely disliked one candidate, but I just figured that the other candidate was just a better option than the other and I didn’t question any of their ideas as not to dislike them as well because I knew that many people also had a problem with their ideas and policies. I really didn’t think I would side with the candidate as much as I did because I didn’t bias any of my answers and didn’t really know where each candidate stood in economic or environmental policies. In the past, I’ve done more research about presidential debates, even when I was very young, in 2nd grade, figuring out who I sided with. I never really sided with much of my family and often had debates with my friends on who should win, so the presidential elections have always been a pretty big deal to me (I skipped lunch in 2nd grade to watch Barak Obama be inaugurated). This year, I’m going to Washington to see the inauguration (or maybe just the parade) for myself, and I would be really excited. However, I am worried about the possibility of a certain candidate being chosen. I have always found one to be a role model to me (even if I wasn’t sure that I agreed with their policies), and have always wanted them to succeed (the other I watched on tv and liked their show, but never imagined them running for president in a serious manner). I really wish that I could vote in this election because I feel that there will be a serious problem if one of the candidates is elected, and I worry about the state of our nation if this occurs. As I’m growing up and going into college, I want to be influenced by somebody that I believe in and led by somebody that I have confidence in, that I know will stick up for my rights and do what is just for their time as president. To be honest, I feel that only one candidate is suitable for the presidency and that they have been working up to this point for their entire lives, and I would be very upset if they do not win. I know that in 4 years, during the next election, I’ll be able to vote and I’ll have a say in what happens, but for now, I want to do anything possible to bring forward change and make America safe.”

“This election shows us a lot about the people in our country and how we feel about what we have now, both positively and negatively. I had taken this survey before and answered all the same questions and got the same results. The first time I took it, my results showed that I supported Hillary a significant amount more than Trump, and my results were consistent this time around. I was not surprised by my results, as I am a strong supporter of her and like what she stands for. I could not imagine any of her opponents being in office. I wish I could vote in this election. I know many people who are saying they are not planning on voting because they don’t like either candidate. In my eyes, it is an American privilege to be able to vote, and those who don’t, in this election, are essentially voting for Trump. I am not a fan of Trump at all and feel that all votes matter. A vote for nobody is a vote for him in this odd type of election”

images

“This election connects to modern world history in many ways. This election is for the U.S.A. which is a big part of earth’s modern world. I have heard lots on NPR about people all around the world who tune into the election and some who even have come to the US to campaign for one candidate because they know it would affect them even in another country, or just affect other aspects of the world they care for. I do wish I could vote in this election for a couple reasons. In this election, it is one of the first elections that I have known enough about the world to understand what is happening, and throughout this election it has really made me think about what I want. I have drastically changed my political views over the past year. One year ago I didn’t really know or care much about the government and politics, and just followed my parents as Democrats. But over the last year and watching the presidential race I have grown also to want a change as many other people do. I disagree with my parents and would love to vote and show them the world, and my other surroundings, how I feel.”

“After taking the survey, this election connects to modern world history because overall all the parties involved, and who stands for what, are all so chaotic and jumbled. For example, after WWI when the world was in an unstable place, radical political parties formed- creating drastic effects. We saw that after WWI since Germany was struggling in all ways, the people of Germany looked to a stable, confident leader to believe in to bring the country back to a better state. Now, our world today is not like the world was after WWI, but our world is certainly not perfect. That being said, these presidential candidates, one more than the other, go to more drastic measures in order to catch the public. Also, not implying that we are responding to it the same way the Germans did.”

The result of the survey didn’t surprise me too much, I ended up siding with Clinton 95% and Trump 28%- which did surprise me a little bit. I really liked this survey because I think it was interesting to see how I side with by answering questions. It made a lot of sense to do it this way because I find myself really unsure knowing who I side with/believe in but this was a great way to see.”

Do you wish you could vote in this election? Why or why not?  

I really am torn with this question, I would usually want to vote because I think it’s important to vote. But, these two candidates don’t grab me very much, in any way, so I don’t wish that I could vote this year. But, in the future (because I will be 18 the next time there is an election) I will definitely vote. But as of right now in the circumstances of the election, I don’t wish to be voting this year.”

“This election reminds me of how twisted politics has become. It reminds me that politics is no longer for the well-being of the people but the well-being of a certain party’s wealth and authority. Congress is no longer united. It’s all a competition. Goals and decisions are no longer aimed for the people but for individual parties. The politics of America have become too selfish and messed up that Donald Trump is able to run for president AND he might become president. These twisted politics of America can spread to the whole world, causing many conflicts (like WW2). American politics can be seen as America’s weakness to the world, giving many of our enemies the chance to strike back on us, leading to a possible WW3.”

“I am very surprised that I got Jill Stein, for I had no idea she was running for president. Campaigns and commercials for the election have been taken over by the Trump campaign and the Hillary campaign, both with the most money. Money should not give others advantages in time like these. Money hides who they really are and hide other great minds apart of this election. I wish I could vote, maybe it could make a change.”

images

“After taking the survey, I realized how much this connects with what we are learning in history right now.  To us, it seems bizarre that a man like Hitler would have been able to have so many supporters, but Hitler’s rise in power probably looked a lot like our election. The survey covers many of the controversial topics that our country’s leaders have to make the tough calls on, but there are still many more. In Hitler’s time, there were probably many as well. People looked towards the strong persuasive candidates, who have very specific and unwavering stances on these topics that they can follow and trust, which is what people look for in candidates now. I was surprised about my results because as my parents are not citizens of the US, we don’t follow the election/politics as carefully as other families, so I really didn’t know what candidate I had similar views with. I do not wish I could vote in this election, because I do not know that much about this year’s election, so I don’t think I would be able to make a good decision.  When I am able to vote, I would definitely follow the election more carefully.”

“After taking the survey on Isidewith.com, I noticed that there are so many more aspects to picking a future president than what you see or hear on T.V regarding their beliefs. This is similar to modern world history because most people vote on someone based on their public view in society and how strongly they present themselves. I initially came into this survey thinking I was going to get 100% for voting for Hillary, but I got 76% Hillary and 26% Trump, which is really surprising because I would never imagine myself supporting the same topics as Donald Trump. This election, I’m glad I cannot vote because I realized that you cannot fully side with one president because each candidate has values I support, which makes it really difficult because you have to prioritize which values mean more to you than others.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

