Moses Brown Versatones perform at Gloria Gemma 5K

November 13, 2016

By Abby M. ‘17.

I have been singing with the Versatones, Moses Brown’s student-led a capella group since my freshman year, and I am now a senior. We had the opportunity to perform the National Anthem at the Gloria Gemma Breast Cancer Awareness 5K in Providence, RI. I can remember doing this same performance four years ago, as a freshman. I recall being so nervous but very excited to be a part of this tradition. We sang sophomore year again, and when one of my fellow leaders helped organize it this year, that same excitement returned. I saw this elation in the new members of our group, and witnessing it was a moment of immense pride.

4Breast cancer is an illness that has affected many people and their families. Two women in my family have been diagnosed with breast cancer, so to attend this race and to see the camaraderie between those who participate is compelling. Those who are still battling breast cancer, survivors, or family members who have lost loved ones come together in an incredibly inspiring way, in pink workout gear, to celebrate their lives.

To be a part of such a positive custom, celebrating incredibly unyielding survivors and families during my final year here at Moses Brown, was an honor.

Leave a Reply

